10 things to know when flying long distances

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1. PACK AN EMPTY WATER BOTTLE

Make sure that it is really empty otherwise the security staff might take it away from you at security check. Sometimes there are bins you can dispose your liquids and take the empty bottle with you, but better be prepared. Normally during a long distance flight the flight attendants should offer drinks about every two hours, but sometimes this is not the case. In addition most times you can`t get a bottle, only these little plastic cups with little to drink in it. So the way to go is that you fill up your bottle before boarding, for example with tabwater from the bathroom.

2. EXTRA CLOTHES IN YOUR CARRY ON BAG

It happened to me twice already, that my luggage did not show up on the baggage carousel. First time I was not prepared at all and had to wash out my clothes with my hands, because I had nothing fresh for the next morning. Luckily I still had the toothbrush from the flight.

3. BOARD LAST

No way to hurry, board last and you can check if there are some empty seats or even rows, as there is no one coming after you, you can take an empty row instead of your booked seat. You might be lucky if the flight is not fully booked.

4. TAKE A BIG SCARF INTO THE PLANE

A scarf is a very practicable thing. You can cover your eyes with it, so you can sleep and the bright light in the plane does not disturb you. Second, if you feel cold, you can wrap the big piece of fabric around you or use it as a blanket. Third, if someone coughs next to you or the flight attendants spray the insecticides shortly before landing to some destinations, you can cover up your nose and mouth.

5. ASK FOR A TOOTHBRUSH SET

If you travel long by plane take your own toothbrush or ask the flight attendants for a set to brush your teeth, sometimes they don`t put it on your seats anymore, but if you ask you can normally get a little set with toothbrush and toothpaste.

6. WEAR COMPRESSION SOCKS

When I travelled the first time a long distance flight, I wondered why my feet did not fit in my shoes anymore, shortly before landing. So I squeezed my feet into the narrow shoes, well I was unexperienced and now I know it better. So I usually wear compression socks and that is when the shoes do not shrink anymore shortly before landing! In addition you can take some bigger and warm socks to put over it, so your feet stay nice and warm.

7. GET A WINDOW SEAT IF YOU TRAVEL ON YOUR OWN

I am alway worried when I sleep that my head falls onto the shoulder of my neighbours. That is why I prefer to sit next to the window, than I can lean my head to the wall instead to my neighbour. The only disadvantage is that you have to wake up or disturb your neighbours, if you want to go to the toilet.

8. TAKE EARPLUGS AND YOUR OWN HEADPHONES

Mostly the headphones they provide do not fit properly (at least me), this is why I can recommend to take your own headphones with you. Another good advice is to bring earplugs, that no one and no noise can disturb your sleep. You might miss out a meal, but at least you have had a nice sleep.

 

9. GET A SEAT NEAR THE EXIT DOOR, IF YOU NEED TO CATCH A CONNECTION

When I flew home from Finland I had to change airplanes in Helsinki. Boarding for the next flight was only one hour after landing in Helsinki. So I knew it was a tight one. But then the flight was even delayed and left me with 20 minutes to find the right gate and to get to the boarding of my connection flight. So I boarded the first flight, like usually, last. And there were some seats left in front near the door. (My planned seat when I checked in was right in the back). So I just sat on the empty seat and was able to get off the plane one of the first. Ok my baggage did not arrive at my destination, because the connection was to close, but at least I made it on the last second to the flight home.

10. ASK FOR A ONE DAY SURVIVAL KIT, IF YOUR LUGGAGE IS NOT ON THE CAROUSEL

This is where we come to the last advice. If your bag does not show up on the carousel, you can ask at the help desk of your airline company for a one day survival kit. There is some shampoo, washing lotion, a deodorant, a fresh shirt and some other useful stuff. Todays they do not offer it anymore, because it is an expensive give away, so you must ask them for it. You have to go to the help desk anyway, because you need to leave them the address, they will bring the luggage the next days. If you want, you can buy the most urgent things in a drugstore and hand the bill in to the airplane company.

Thanks for reading and safe travels for all of you!CIMG4843

Leave a Reply

