Finland-Africa – sleep and heat

Aah awake since 4 o’clock, I know it is too early and I will be very tired this afternoon. But anyway I do not want to turn around in my bed, so I just write a new blog.

What is this about? My trip is taking place middle in summertime in South Africa and Namibian deserts, so my plan is to stay up early mornings to cycle the first km. Usually this was working fine in Slovenia, my friend and I had a nice ride before breakfast and then later on did a rest for breakfast at about 9 o’clock and another one with an afternoon nap in the shade. I do not mind heat and I am in love with a hot sauna, but cycling in the brightest and hottest hours of the african day sounds not the best idea. So better get up early and after the nap ride into the sunset.

At the moment I am living in Finland in a studenthousing. There are parties nearly everynight and therefore my sleeping rhythm is a bit chaotic. Not that I am taking part in everydays party, but I am not lucky and have a very light sleep and people are just having fun in night times. But to see all this positive I can do little bit training for africa!

Normally I sleep with open window and I like to get to be waken up by the daylight. Before it is bright I do not feel awake and it is soo difficult to get up. The thing is it is just 10 seconds to get up and usually I am fit then, but it sometimes is too hard to get over this 10 seconds, and what is even easier to turn around and sleep one or two more hours.

As it is quite early dark and little bit later bright here in Finland as in southern Europe I think I got rehabilitated of my 10 seconds problem. So I am well prepared to get up before sunrise to pack my stuff and ride the first km soon.

Attached are some photos of the beautiful city Tampere, hope you enjoy it before you get to see summertime in my photos of Africa!

Skyline of Tampere

Skyline of Tampere

Famous bridge of Tampere

Famous bridge of Tampere

Autumn is following the late summer time and Finnish ruska is taking over the nature, beautiful colours and sunshine makes it perfect.

Last summerdays of autumn, following a nice view from the top of Tampere from Sokos Torni Hotel

Soon the trees are looking pale and the days are getting shorter and shorter. The first snow arrives.

At 15:30 it gets dark

At 15:30 it gets dark

Little bit of stretching

Little bit of stretching

The snow gets more and more…

Tampere from Pyynikki Torni

Tampere from Pyynikki Torni

One thought on “Finland-Africa – sleep and heat

Leave a Reply

